NZPA North Island Men’s and Women’s 10-Ball

Posted on Thursday, October 4th, 2012

Hosted by the Auckland Pool Assn and held at the ACBS Clubrooms : 28-30 September 2012

Report by Malcolm Beehre : Certainly a lot to think about in 10-Ball which is made up of 8 and 9-Ball rules and at times was confusing some players.  A few surprises in the qualifiers; one of them being Matt Edwards who qualified 14th with only 2 wins, and Lingxiao Zhu in the same section, thinking he had already qualified before his last match, and didn’t commit himself to it, losing 6/7.  So with only 2 wins missed out by one frame. Continue reading »

2012 Mitchell Cloth North Island Snooker

Posted on Tuesday, September 25th, 2012

Report by Malcolm Beehre : There’s always an underdog who performs well and achieves personal bests when playing in a high class field like this tournament.  This time it was Roy O’Connor who, after a mammoth 3 hour match, lost to Rob Redgrove on the pink in the 5th frame.  This frame had a very difficult situation half way through it, which involved the foul and miss rule and also a situation which involved Redgrove having the upper hand after O’connor missed the ball on five times and always left a free ball situation.  On the 4th free ball, Redrove ended up snookering O’Connor behind the ball he took as a free ball, reversing the situation.  However after the 2nd free ball, O’Connor had he played a bad shot and the ball on.  O’Connor then took the 1st frame off Chris Maltby in his next match, but Maltby then had an 83 clearance and a 73 break in the next two frames and won the match 3/1. Continue reading »

ABSA B-Grade Open Snooker

Posted on Tuesday, September 25th, 2012

Held at the ACBS Clubrooms : 23 September 2012

Report by Malcolm Beehre : Everyone seemed to enjoy the format for this tournament which was Soopa Snooka rules which are very similar to 147 rules.  Party Poker Snooker Shoot out are the same as Soopa Snooka, except they have a 10 minute time limit and a 20 second, then 15 second shot time limit.  Very simply, in Soopa Snooka a ball must be potted or pocketed every shot except when playing out of a snooker.  Points are awarded for all fouls.  White ball can be placed anywhere on the table after any foul.  At any stage in the frame if an opponent needs 3 snookers to draw, the frame is over.  Anyone wanting a full set of rules can contact Malcolm Beehre on 021 309 447. Continue reading »

APA Regional 10-Ball

Posted on Saturday, September 15th, 2012

Held at the ACBS Clubrooms : 08-09 September 2012

Report by Malcolm Beehre : No real surprises in Section Play qualifiers.  There’s a giant killer in every tournament and this time it was a new comer to APA events who qualified Number 1 in his section, beating Marvin Padrigo 6/5, Jon Grimley 6/3, Coy Cao 6/1 and Alistair Arlidge 6/3.  Unfortunately he came up against 13th qualifier Maher hatab and went down 6/4.  It was a great effort by Hatab who has struggled to find form this year and I’m sure we are going to see a lot more of Qi Heiwen. Continue reading »

NZBSA North Island Billiards

Posted on Saturday, September 15th, 2012

Hosted by the Auckland Billiards & Snooker Assn and held at the ACBS Clubrooms : 07-09 September 2012

Report by Frank Prowse : There was a very small field, however the quality of play was of the highest standard.   It took the last of Section Play to have a break over 100 made by Wayne Carey of 127.   Continue reading »

ABSA/OWMC Open Snooker

Posted on Tuesday, August 21st, 2012

Held at the ACBS Clubrooms : 18-19 August 2012

Report by Malcolm Beehre : A smaller field this year, but a very competitive lot of contestants with a few players having some personal best results.  One of these players was Bill Andrews who took a frame off Wyn Belmont and also a frame off Marino Hapi.  Onehunga Workingmen’s Club members performed fairly well with Greg Crichton, Rodney Herd, Gordon Dong, Sanjay Kumar, Arthur Webber, Eamon Hill and Henry Killian all qualifying for Post-section Play. Continue reading »

ABSA B-Grade Snooker

Posted on Tuesday, July 31st, 2012

Held at the ACBS Clubrooms : 29 July 2012

Report by Malcolm Beehre : A good field of 21 players.  This tournament was played trailling the 147 rules with no time limit on aggregate scores.  All matches were best of 3 frames.  It wasn’t really a success and did not speed up the frame times.  147 rules do need to be played using aggregate scores and also on a time limit. Continue reading »

ABSA B-Grade Billiards

Posted on Tuesday, July 31st, 2012

Held at the ACBS Clubrooms : 28 July 2012

Semi-finals : G Fletcher bt M Taylor 130/133, L Ford bt R Maitland 178/171.

Final : G Fletcher bt L Ford 125/119

Highest Break : M Taylor (58)

NZBSA Billiards Championship

Posted on Tuesday, July 17th, 2012

Hosted by the Auckland Billiards & Snooker Assn and held at the ACBS Clubrooms : 10-14 July 2012

Wayne Carey writes on 16 July 2012 : Gary Oliver (Christchurch) yesterday in Auckland won the NZBSA Billiards Championship for the 10th time in a row (2003-2012).  Dave Meredith, also from Christchurch won this Championship 15 times, but not in a row (from 1980-1997, 6-0-1-0-7-0-1 = 15 titles); then retired.  Dave Meredith’s 15 NZ Titles has to be now under serious threat. Continue reading »

Report by Malcolm Beehre

Posted on Thursday, July 12th, 2012

It was a busy 15 days at the ACBS Clubrooms from Friday 29 June through to Saturday 14 July.  We hosted the NZPA National Men’s and Women’s 9-Ball Championships, the NZBSA National B-Grade Snooker, NZBSA National Snooker, NZBSA National B-Grade Billiards and the NZBSA National Billiards Championships in that order.

Notable results were 14-year-old Camelia Cook being top qualifier in the Women’s 9-Ball event; A Kumar beat top seed Lee Rudolph in the Last 16 of the National B-Grade Snooker.  Kumar needed a snooker with the pink and black left in the third frame.  He got the snooker then went on to win the match on the black.  Kevin Zhang won the NZPA National Men’s 9-Ball title beating Nick Pera 11/9.  Vanny Ry beat Tony Van Wijk 3/0 to take out the NZBSA National B-Grade Snooker title.