National 9Ball Report by David Breen

Posted on Tuesday, July 14th, 2015

National 9 Ball report 2015 (David Breen)

The National men’s 9 ball assembled a very strong field of 43 players .The top seeded 8 players were automatically through to the Sunday double life elimination. Twenty four players came through the qualifying from Saturday .Top of their six sections were Joe Pologa , Chris Bowman, Lincoln Muaulu, Raymond Sayo, K D Singh and Joe Wen.

Sunday saw some early upsets in the first round sending some players to the long road through the loser’s side of the draw .Jamie Walker sent KD Singh over to the losers side 6/4.and Ryon Derriman defeated past champion Glen Coutts 6/3.

The eventual finalist K D Singh showed how tough and long the day can be on the losers side. He defeated Vinnie Adams 6/4,Raymond Sayo 6/5,Kevin Zhang 7/5,Chris Bowman 8/4Brent Wells 8/3 and Marvin Padrigo 8/5 – 8 matches and then onto the final with Matt Edwards.

Matts road to the final was 5 matches with the final being his 6th.Matt defeated Ning Yang 6/2,Deepak Bala7/2,Ryang Wang 8/1 and Marvin Padrigo 10/4 before his clash with KD in the final.

K D Singh had been in fine touch holding his form well throughout the day and running frames out strongly .K D took the first frame but Matt levelled and soon got in front. Matt was showing a fine balance of safety, finishing and running out frames and never looked like surrendering the lead. The final score 10/4.K D showed that it may not be long before he takes out a title his overall play throughout the tournament was the most consistent I had seen from him.

Matt had recently returned from the China Open and mixing it with world champions has seen his game develop even stronger. He now holds the 3 National titles of 8,9 and 10 ball.

The National woman’s field was 8 players who all played section play in two groups of four with the top two in each section going through to Sunday double life. Qualifiers were Lorna Frost, Hami Nguyen, Molrudee K and Connie Adams. The final was between Molrudee and Lorna with Molrudee winning 9/2. Molrudee also now holds the 10,8 and 9 ball national titles.

National 9-Ball Championships

Posted on Tuesday, July 14th, 2015

Congratulations to Matthew Edwards and Molrudee Kasemchaiyanan for winning the Men’s and Ladies 2015 National 9-Ball Championships

Men’s Event

1st – Matthew Edwards

2nd – KD Singh

3rd – Marvin Padrigo

4th – Brent Wells

5th – Chris Bowman

6th – Glen Coutts

7th – Toan Nguyen

8th – Ryan Wang

9th – Joe Wen

10th – Kevin Zhang

11th – Ryon Derriman

12th – Joe Pologa

Women’s Event

1st – Molrudee Kasemchaiyanan

2nd – Lorna Frost

3rd – Hami Nguyen

4th – Connie Adams

City of Invercargill Snooker Event

Posted on Monday, July 13th, 2015

City of Invercargill Poster below!  All ACBS members are welcome to compete in this event

City of Invercargill

Open B-Grade and 147 Report

Posted on Tuesday, June 30th, 2015

147 Snooker

A very high standard of potting in this headed by Gordon Dong with 590 points from 7 x 21 minute frames including 117 in one frame.  In the afternoon re-draw he also had the highest score of 477 followed by Lee Rudolph with 463.  Rudolph was in front by 24 points going into the last round and looking like winning the event but Carlson failed to hit the yellow in his last round game against Dong who got 20 points before the bell went.

B-Grade Snooker

Also a time frame tournament, player of the day would have to go to Junior, Pravil Kant who played some impressive snooker end up with 4 wins in section play then beat Ashwin Kumar in the Quarter-finals 2/1, Cliff Keach in the semi-finals 2/1.  Unfortunately in the final he had a rush of blood in the final frame losing to Evan Carlson who had beaten Lee Rudolph 2/0 in the other semi-final.

Report by Malcolm Beehre

Open 147 and Open B-Grade Snooker Results

Posted on Tuesday, June 30th, 2015

Results for the 147 Snooker and Open B-Grade Snooker

27th and 28th of June, 2015

Held at: ACBS Clubrooms, 713 Mt Albert Road, Royal Oak

 147 Snooker

1st – Gordon Dong

2nd – Lee Rudolph

3rd – Ron Milicich

4th – Bruce Davies

 Open B-Grade Snooker


Lee Rudolph beat Bruce Davies 2/0. Evan Carlson beat Bill Andrews 2/1. Cliff Keach beat Kenny Liew 2/0. Pravil Kant beat Ashwin Kumar 2/1.


Evan Carlson beat Lee Rudolph 2/0. Pravil Kant beat Cliff Keach 2/1.


Evan Carlson beat Pravil Kant 2/1.

City of Auckland Snooker

Posted on Tuesday, June 23rd, 2015

2015 City of Auckland Snooker

This tournament was filled with suprises.  The first one was last year’s winner Greg Moreton not qualifying for Post Section play.  Veteran, Kenny Joyce in the last match of the day against Nyan Win Aye winning 2/1 to qualify as the best overall 4th much to the delight of the players staying for the Post Section Draw.  Unfortunately Joyce of course drew the No 1 qualify Henry Killian who went on to win the event.  Section One saw three players on 3 wins each top was Vinny Gounder +5 next Deepak Bala +4 and Evan Carlson +1.  Junior Mikey Stewart had a mixed day qualifying 3rd in his section but had a great day on Sunday getting through to the semi-finals where he went down to Killian 3/2.  Last 16, Henry Killian beat Kenny Joyce 3/0.  Cliff Keach beat Dave Gourley 3/1. Deepak Bala beat Ashwin Kumar 3/0. Mikey Stewart beat Vinny Gounder 3/1.  Gordon Dong beat Eric Ou 3/0, Evan Carlson beat Sani Roberts 3/1. Lee Rudolph beat KD Singh 3/1. Steve Robertson beat Dale Kwok 3/0.  Quarter-Finals, Henry Killian beat Cliff Keach 3/0. Mikey Stewart beat Deepak Bala 3/2. Gordon Dong beat Evan Carlson 3/0. Steve Robertson beat Lee Rudolph 3/2.  Semi-Finals, Henry Killian beat Mikey Stewart 3/2. Steve Robertson beat Gordon Dong 3/0. Finals, Henry Killian beat Steve Robertson 3/2.

Report by Malcolm Beehre

Auckland Women’s Snooker

Posted on Thursday, June 18th, 2015

2015 Auckland Women’s Snooker

14th of June, 2015

Held at: ACBS Clubrooms, 713 Mt Albert Road, Royal Oak


Ramona Belmont beat Nita Clarkson 2/0. Temple Geayley beat Kimberley Cullen 2/0.


Temple Geayley beat Ramona Belmont 2/1

Highest Break

Ramona Belmont – 34

Auckland Veteran’s Snooker

Posted on Thursday, June 18th, 2015

Auckland Veteran’s Snooker

A good field of 14 playing 2 sections of 7 format was 1 frame round robin with 4 to qualify from each section.  Frames were limited 25 minutes and a one foul and miss rule was played.  All seemed to like this format and post section games were best of 3 with the same time limit.  Plate games were still 1 frame but with no time limit.  Plate games were still 1 frame but with no time limit.  Top qualifier was Bernie Steward on 6 wins followed by Wayne Carey and Dave Gourley both on 5 wins each.  Quarter-Finals, Steward 2, Ron Milicich 1, Gourley 2, Bruce Davies 0, Evan Carlson 2, Roy O’Connor 0, Carey 2, Cliff Keach 0.  Semi-Finals, Steward 2, Gourley 1, Carey 2, Carlson 1.  Final, Steward 2, Carey 1.  Bill Andrews won the plate over Barry Littlechild.

by Malcolm Beehre

North Island 9-Ball Championships

Posted on Tuesday, June 9th, 2015

Women’s Results

1st – Ramona Belmont

2nd – Lisa Everett

3rd – Connie Adams

4th – Klare Hamit

Men’s Results

1st – Matt Edwards

2nd – Glen Coutts

3rd – Toan Nguyen

4th – Will Wen

5th – Louis Chand

6th – KD Singh

7th – Lincoln Muaulu

8th – Molrudee Kasemchaiyanan

Coaching on Tuesday Nights @ SnookerWorld

Posted on Tuesday, June 9th, 2015

Classes limited to 6 per class.  Format is 1 hour coaching using 3 tables plus 2 hours free  table time.  Nightly fee is $5 per person.  1st session is 6pm.  2nd session is 7pm.  Anyone wanting to attend must register with Barry Littlechild.

Page 5 of 5012345678910...203040...Last »